Snow and Childhood Memories

Carol A. Hand

Frigid air and fluffy snow
Grateful there’s no place I need to go
What’s the wisest choice today?
Instead of whining, go out and play

Reach out and gather fallen star-flakes
Behold tiny miracles – that’s really all it takes
Although the sparkling crystals will soon disappear
joyful memories of winters past will return year after year

***

Memories from Allendale, NJ - 1957

Memories from Allendale, NJ – 1957

***

Sending peaceful winter blessings to all

***

Copyright Notice: © Carol A. Hand and carolahand, 2013-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carol A. Hand and carolahand with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Snow and Childhood Memories

  1. underswansea says:

    Lovely verse! It is only youth that has the pleasure of being grateful for no place to go. Take care. Bob

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for your lovely comments. Bob.

      As my hair turns ever grayer, and deep wrinkles line my face, memories transport me back to childhood, to a simpler time and place. 🙂

      (Sorry, I couldn’t resist sharing the lighthearted verse your comments inspired…)

      Like

  2. Heartwarming poem Carol. I love the photo. What wonderful memories. :o)

    Liked by 2 people

  3. smilecalm says:

    that little girl’s
    joy,
    présente 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Beautiful words as usual Carol. Wishing you love, good health and peace at Christmas and all times of the year. xx

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Annika Perry says:

    Delightful poem capturing the enduring joy of snow – ‘star-flakes’ is just the perfect word for each crystal snowflake, filled with magic. 😀 Also smiling at the photo, that looks like a fun snow grotto!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Rajagopal says:

    The sparkling crystals may soon disappear, yet joyful memories will return year after year, is a thought that captures the joie-de-vivre of snowy winter and snowflakes. From the tropical region where I am based, Carol, I can relate to it through the rainy seasons that come and go twice a year, feasting the senses with captivating aroma of parched earth encircling the first fall of rain water in its warm embrace, peaking in ecstacies of new life with green shoots lushly stretching into flowering plants and fruiting trees. There is also the other side manifesting after several weeks of continual rains confining people mostly indoors, creating drabness induced by consecutive wet and grey days compelling kids to crib and appeal in the tone of a nursery rhyme, ‘rain rain go away, / come again another day / little Johnny wants to play’.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Such poetic and thoughtful comments, Raj. Thank you. I also appreciate the contrasts with weather where you live, and your observations that the intensity and duration of weather events is a crucial factor that colors how they are viewed. As I watch for the impending snowstorm that may keep me from traveling to my last class tomorrow, I am mindful of the hazards too many star-flakes pose when they are compacted into icy patches or blowing across hilly, winding roadways.

      Like

  7. sojourner says:

    Snow, Snow,
    Go away!
    But please come back,
    After I’ve been put away!

    😉

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I love the vintage picture and of course poem! I hope I can be as poetic as you are 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lovely poem, Carol, and sweet picture in all that snow. May love, good health, and peace find you playing again in the snow.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Great post. Some of my favorite childhood memories are of playing in the snow and one of my favorite memories as an adult is making snow angels with my daughters. I still love walking around while snow is falling. It’s beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. mytiturk says:

    This is what makes every place and heart, even the sometimes chilled ones, special.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

