Ice-bound

Carol A. Hand

***

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap, but by the seeds that you plant.”
(Robert Louis Stevenson)

***

December 26, 2016
December 26, 2016

***

What seeds can I plant today
surrounded by a blustery snowy icy sea
blocking access to the garage and my ice-chipping tools?
Still I greet the morning gratefully.
I count many blessings – my house is warm cozy
my computer powered by electricity
a freezer filled with garden harvest
and no other place I need to be.
A new course to plan, a book manuscript to edit –
Ideas are certainly seeds to plant that open up possibility!

Well, I decided the ice chipper was worth the risk of walking on ice
and remembered the Yak Trax, a gift from a dear friend years ago
They made walking outside possible – (‘tho not in a winter paradise)
a pair of repurposed tennis shoes remained steady on ice and snow.
Alas the ice proved too hard and thick for the chipper
but at least it’s accessible now as cold snowy winds continue to blow

***

December 26, 2016 - "Yak-Trax"
December 26, 2016 –
“Yak-Trax”

***

And if I get bored, there are books and friends’ blogs to read
What more does anyone really need
in order to sow gratitude in winter as a miraculous seed?

***

Note: The hazardous beauty of an ice storm in a hilly northern city like Duluth, Minnesota, is not easy to describe in words. Sadly, I never have a camera with me when I see Duluth vistas I would love to save and share. Creative Commons photos don’t seem to capture the awe-inspiring views from the hillside, but I did find a harbor cam that provides a fascinating view if anyone is interested: Duluth Harbor Cam.

***

22 thoughts on “Ice-bound”

  1. I like your choice of photo for this day and the quote. As I visited Edinburgh this summer I “met” Robert Stevenson and became so impressed by his character. He had suffered so much from different imfermaties and still he wrote so exciting and positive novels and poetry

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely comments, Maria. I remember your fascinating post about your visit to Edinburgh and your thoughtful discussion about Stevenson. I love to read about your travels and see the beautiful photos you share. 🙂

      Like

  2. Carol:
    Inhabiting an icy landscape might not be meant for the camera. My most indelible memory was putting on my skates and crossing farm fields for hours one wintery day. The solitude and silence – and peace. The song Joni Mitchell made, you surely know, takes me back.
    Season’s wishes to you and your friends Carol. Thanks for the plantings. Nothing like those Lake Superior, Duluth winters.
    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Such wonderful memories about skating across winter fields, Steve. Thank you for sharing these peaceful images. I remember similar times as a child. In fact, I was just wishing I had skates to travel over the ice-covered sidewalks and lawn. 🙂

      Like

  3. There are so many “seeds” we can sow during winter time! I feel a similar gratitude to that you express here. Winter is the gift from Nature to rest and process, to re-charge for the spring….thank you for remind us all of this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely comments, Silvia. Winter is a gift. It’s actually my favorite time of year, although it’s harder to enjoy it sometimes in the city. I miss being closer to nature but there are other gifts here to celebrate, too.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Peter, and for checking out the harbor cam. After reading your comment, I checked out the night-time view. I was surprised by the ostentatious light display downtown, and then reflected about the darkness of the long winter here. I suppose it helps others deal with the darkness, although I prefer less costly ways to find light. Sending my best wishes to you, dear friend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I prefer snow, too, Michael. I am grateful for the Yak-Trax, though. I needed to chisel the two inches of ice that kept my front gate from opening, and three inches of ice that blocked my front door! I’m afraid we will be stuck with ice that is literally bonded to the concrete and earth. It fell as sleet and freezing rain. Now we also have a couple inches of snow on top with more to come and more cold weather in the forecast. It’s funny how I seldom choose to go out when the weather is nice and whine whine I can’t.

      But enough whining. The good news is that I was able to draft a beginning outline for the class I’ll be co-teaching that begins in January and plan to revisit editing my book manuscript this week.

      Thank you for your comments. I hope your winter is gentle.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am staying indoors today because of the cold wind that came suddenly and made the temperature drop. Having a warm home is a blessing. Happy New year to you. Hope 2017 brings peace and security instead of hate and uncertainty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

