Reflections about Creativity and Humility

Carol A. Hand

I’m really not a writer, but here is the thing
If I put ideas on paper and have the right opportunities
I can build programs or teach classes and make those words sing
With enough love for others and hope in my heart
I’m willing to work long hours doing homework, listening
building alliances and thinking through issues before I even start

Student Graduation Celebration - 2009

Student Graduation Celebration – 2009

But the magic ingredients for ideas to blossom
are people who come together to build shared dreams
What they create in solidarity is often truly awesome
then it’s time for me to celebrate their creations and quietly walk away
and take time to breathe, and time for rest, and maybe even play
knowing there’ll always be more worthy ideas to put on paper – another day

***

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Reflections about Creativity and Humility

  1. kethuprofumo says:

    Golden words, dear Carol!

    For most young teachers they would be most welcome to learn to love their profession.

    Best wishes,

    Maria

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joan Treppa says:

    Such wisdom Carol. Happy writing in 2017! I love reading your posts and I hope to also get back to blogging on a more regular basis. I recently received a stellar review of my book transcript from the publisher. Of course I had a lot of help writing it because I am not a seasoned writer, just a very passionate antagonist…lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. victorialise says:

    So much of this resonated with my heart. So wise and wonderfully worded. Thank you for sharing, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. susanissima says:

    No, you are a writer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, maybe a storyteller, Susan. 🙂 You are a (truly gifted) writer. But writing is just not the same for me as being able to be part of the energy of a collective, creative process and then being present to witness transformations.

      Like

  5. Absolutely and what you put on paper is great. Yes you are a storyteller and a great one at that. And they are the best writers always!!! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. DK Fennell says:

    If you are not a writer, none of us are.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words, DK. Perhaps it’s just harder to judge one’s writing skills in terms of positive concrete outcomes. When creating a new program to address a social problem like infant mortality, or teaching a class of first generation college students, a synergy develops between all of the people involved. One is able to observe more immediate (and sometimes even longer-lasting) transformative outcomes.

      I’m not sure that I can breathe the same kind of spontaneous inventiveness and energy into my writing that is possible in those synergistic face-to-face relational exchanges. But I haven’t given up trying, and I do so appreciate your encouraging comments.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. smilecalm says:

    just a few hipping hopping
    drum beats and this
    is an anthem
    for educating
    educators 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh, Carol, if ever there were a time, at least in our short lives, when shared dreams were crucial, it is now! May your work grow!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. AmyRose🌹 says:

    You are a writer, Carol! What are you talking about? Love the thought behind your words here. Thank you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I find it ironic that anyone would write the words, “I’m not really a writer!” I know what you meant. I’ve felt the feeling. It’s hard to overcome, but try. Own your beautiful words. Only you could have written them and infused them with your singular voice!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Your post are so encouraging, especially for me. I try to drink in all of your advice and expertise. Thank you for sharing and also for following my humble blog. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your lovely comments, Patricia. This morning, I was delighted to see the newest chapter of the story you’ve just begun. I always look forward to reading your fascinating work. ❤

      Like

  12. Jim Brennan says:

    The most daunting thing for a writer is the blank paper or white screen, and the writer’s bravest act is to write that first line. One of the great writers (I can’t recall who) said they write so they know what they think, and I believe that. It’s not until you put that pen to paper that you uncover who you are. Oh, and you are a writer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s always a delight to hear from you, Jim. Yes,it is a challenge to figure out where to begin even when stories or poetry are aching to be written. The words that emerge do tell us a lot about ourselves. I appreciate your kindness and insights. Thank you. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

