The Power of Music

Carol A. Hand

Do you ever awaken from a dream where you’re singing a song? That’s what happened to me this morning. It was a song that I see as a little silly in the context of what’s going on in the world today. But it’s a catchy tune that captures some of the troubles that produce such angst in our teens. Those years are long gone for me but not for my grandchildren who remind me what it’s like to be young.

Here Comes My Baby – Yusuf/Cat Stevens

Thankfully, finding the song on YouTube led to me to another song that echoes the yearning of my spirit in the unrelenting cold of this mini-repeat of the polar vortex we’ve been experiencing. It awakens hope by reminding me that even on a cold winter’s day, it’s a new morning filled with possibilities. Spring will come. There’s a different kind of beauty to the winter dawn.

Morning has broken – Yusuf/Cat Stevens

***

Wishing you all a blessed morning wherever you are.

***

***

 

 

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Adversity and Resilience and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Power of Music

  1. Pingback: Blogging in the Trump years – lara

  2. Lara/Trace says:

    I woke up with the Seal song BRING IT ON in my head. It’s stuck in my brain. I love him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll have to check him out, Trace. My knowledge of music and singers is rather limited, perhaps a legacy of hanging up my guitar in my early 20s. But I do remember folk songs and songs that have touched my heart through the years.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sheridan Johnson says:

    Love the songs and so precious that your grandchildren are able to remind you of the good times!😆

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Morning has broken” is one of my favorite songs. Thanks for posting the link.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much for your comments, Rosaliene. It’s one of my favorite songs, too, but I never would have thought of it without prompting this morning. After days of snow and brutal temperatures, I really needed the hope and inspiration this song celebrates. ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  5. inesephoto says:

    One of the best songs ever written! So sad that he gave up music.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Bernadette says:

    Now I will be singing Morning Has Broken all day – not a bad thing. Thanks.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I woke up this morning to a much different song in my head – “Which Way To America” by Living Colour. A very intense song and, unfortunately, probably more indicative of what we’re in store for in the next few years.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your experiences, A Shift in Consciousness. Music is a funny thing, isn’t it? I don’t remember ever waking up singing before, and it’s not a song I’ve ever sung. (I did sing for a short while a long time ago.)

      It was a gift to discover “Morning has broken.” After walking on ice and shoveling snow almost everyday in wickedly frigid weather (wind chill below -25 F tonight) for what is beginning to feel like eternity, my spirit is weary. I don’t need any more reminders about the dangers of these times. They’re all too clear. I need to focus on things that help keep me going as I try to develop classes that will encourage students to imagine something different – weaving/reweaving/strengthening inclusive sustainable communities. This morning, the universe gifted me with a song, and then, protected me from another ransomware attack. I was able to make headway on a detailing a syllabus.

      I will check out the song you heard to I can better understand what you are feeling. In the meantime, I send my best wishes and sincere thanks for your always thoughtful comments.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Just a head’s up: it’s a very heavy song, a hybrid of intense funk and searing hard rock expressing anger at racist oppression. I bought the album, Vivid, when it came out in 1988 – a very different time. Despite the anger in the music, the band sponsored a benefit for the homeless in NYC a year later and brought together musicians of very different styles. Be prepared. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Margaret Mair says:

    I’m glad music brought a little warmth into your frigid day. “Morning Has Broken” is one of my favorite songs. We had the Cat Stevens album he sang it on, and because it is an old hymn my husband and I included it in our wedding many years ago. It is a song of hope, I think, and brings warmth to so many different situations. I hope you wake up singing that song one day – it would be so appropriate!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Kev says:

    Love the Cat Steven’s cover. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Buster Appel says:

    Hi, Carol, My really old pappy and I have been in a bit of a blue funk since the “bloody” election. Thanks for the reminder that music is our best elixir for happiness!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s easy to fall into a funk these days, Buster. But music helps me find hope, even when nature is too cold and icy to enjoy. Sending you and pappy my best wishes, and thank you for your thoughtful comments. 🙂

      Like

  11. smilecalm says:

    such beautiful songs, Carol!
    listening and imagining
    you singing along 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Very nice songs. Thanx for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

