Transmutation

Carol A. Hand

Arbor Vitae Icicles – February 26, 2017

Arbor Vitae Icicles –
February 26, 2017

***

This is just my latest form
though few will stop to wonder
what I am and where I’ve been
before my molecules disperse asunder

Yesterday a cloud, then snow
melting beneath the warming sun
forming with your breath and tears
My transforming journey never done

My essence part of clouds and oceans,
meandering woodland streams
shimmering in rainbows and sustaining life, timeless
outlasting ephemeral political regimes

***

Arbor Vitae Icicles - February 26, 2017

Arbor Vitae Icicles –
February 26, 2017

***

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Transmutation

  1. That last stanza’s just stellar. Beautiful light in the language, this. xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thejuicenut says:

    Yes, I was going to comment on the last few lines too. 👏🏻💜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so serene, Carol, and full of peace. Thanks for the morning smile. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Silvia TIC says:

    Amazing as usual, thank you for this. A reminder of how we are all in a journey of transmutation and transformation, and the eternal cycle of death and rebirth…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Robbie says:

    finally, I got over here:-) As always your are one of the most gifted writers:-) beautiful:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Annika Perry says:

    Superb poem, Carol. Such wonderful writing with intense beauty and sense of peace exuding from it. I had to smile at the last line, even here politics and its transitory nature gets look in. ‘outlasting ephemeral political regimes’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your thoughtful, lovely comments, Annika. From what I know of history, political regimes are ever ephemeral and wars to gain power, never-ending. I sincerely hope that we can learn to wage lasting peace in our times. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. usfman says:

    I love the last line.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful poem and profound reflections.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

