Adieu

Carol A. Hand

The love of my youth is dying
On earth, this lifetime, we’ll not meet again
A long life is sometimes a blessing
but surviving dear friends brings such pain

Truly gentle men are so rare to find
The world doesn’t treat them well
They often ease disappointments silently
with distractions to escape an inner hell

À bientôt, my beloved friend
May you finally know peace deep and true
Please know you’ll always remain in my heart
Though, from afar, I must send my final earthly loving adieu

Snowflakes and Sunlight February 27, 2017
Snowflakes and Sunlight
February 27, 2017

 

for David

There are so many better ways to say “farewell” in French. It’s the language of the heart. I turn to it now to express the depth of my grief and sense of loss.

À bientôt means “see you soon

Adieu translates literally as “(I commend you) to god” 

47 thoughts on “Adieu”

    1. Thank you for your kind words, Diane. It was an exceptional friendship. He was my daughter’s father. He passed away in the evening the day I posted this, before my daughter could catch a flight to go see him.

      Like

  1. I used to argue with my father. I’d tell him I would like to live forever. He’d say he’d hate to live on while his friends and family past on. It’s not like we have a say in it. We get tired like the creeks change paths and the mountains slip into the draws. It seeps in gradually even when it’s quick. Keep your eyes wide and strong for your good friend, Carol. He may be looking back for them. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I appreciate your deep and thoughtful comments, Bob. Your father sounds like a very wise man. Fatigue does seep in, but there are still children and grandchildren to care for and meaningful work that needs doing. Rest will come in its own time and moments of beauty to ease weary souls. ❤

      Like

  2. Carol, I am most sorry for your loss. As we get older, I find it hard to tell if the still-ahead opportunities to learn and grow and give (and raise a little hell!) truly make up for all the people we must mourn. Yet refusing to care is no option at all. So … we carry on — you do it thoughtfully and with grace; I just keep snarling and swearing. – Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had two strong reminders of the impermanence of our earthly life – an elderly friend of mine is in the hospital recuperating from what could have been a fatal illness; and one of my husband’s closest high school buddies who probably only has a few weeks to live (dying from cancer). It has shaken me up, I am doubting everything but also reminding myself to stay in the now and let it be enough. Blessings to you in your grieving time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Read this lovely piece early on and found it beautifully touching. Thought I had responded before now. Must have suffered some device-related distraction… After just reading the comments I understand dimly the extent of the grief that you and your daughter share. So sorry to hear, Carola.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

