Grandmother Moon

Carol A. Hand

Grandmother Moon reflecting light
for a sometimes dark and weary world
where children hunger and die before their time
to feed the greed of would-be kings and queens

Remind us with your patient presence
of wonders we have yet to fathom
your dispassionate illuminating gaze
our guide through the bleakest nights

***

Grandmother Moon – March 10, 2017

***

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Grandmother Moon

  1. desilef says:

    I was watching Grandmother Moon high in a misty sky last night here. She was a rare beauty, but eclipsed by your photo. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. smilecalm says:

    aww, to shine
    with such patience
    as the moon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dolphin says:

    Reblogged this on Dolphin and commented:
    Thank you, so much, Carol for a person who is weary.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. goroyboy says:

    This one Tugged at my heart. Very beautiful Carol thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The moon always reminds me to nurture and to see clearly. Thankyou Carol for this beautiful message. 🌔🌝🌟

    Liked by 1 person

  6. wolfegeo says:

    The ruling class profits and becomes rich from our labor; while, we work for crumbs and are thankful to have them. The moon sheds it’s light on the rich and poor equally. However some are able to see it’s beauty while others only seek to exploit it.
    A beautiful poem Carol. I may have placed emphasis where it doesn’t belong. If so please forgive me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I was wondering what was so powerful about that moon. It also generated a post from me on the 10th. “Grandmother”. Looked the same from my house. It makes sense now. Thank you for the insight!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Annika Perry says:

    We sure seem to need that guiding illuminating light! Gentle deep poem, Carol!😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Stunning poem, Carol. I love the moon and all she symbolizes. This reads like a prayer.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sana Khan says:

    Beautiful Poem ! Love the picture too. I really liked the lines ‘where children hunger and die before their time to feed the greed of would-be kings and queens’ , it is our dark reality where the 99 percent of world wealth is owned by 1% of its population , and it is upto them to be great and do some charity or keep it all to themselves, sometimes I think is this not a basic human right to have food and water when I see the faces of starving children on TV and newspaper?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

