In a Single Frame

Carol A. Hand

In a single frame

Symbols of civilization

juxtaposed with nature

reaching ever higher

for the light

yearning

to breathe

free

***

Morning View – March 11, 2017

***

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to In a Single Frame

  1. Robbie says:

    as always beautiful:-) thank you for your inspiration!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. underswansea says:

    Very fine poem Carol. Few words to address a complex state. I hope you are having a good weekend. Bob

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for your always kind words, Bob. It’s a hybrid class weekend, so I don’t have to drive. Students have a chance to read and share the notes they jot about what they’ve learned. I hope you will be watching the night and morning skies, hiking in the mountains with your camera ready, or just enjoying life with your beautiful family. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • underswansea says:

        Thank you so much Carol! I have been hoping for clear skies. PS I have really been enjoying your photography.

        Liked by 2 people

        • I hope your skies clear, Bob. Ours are cloudy with a winter storm advisory in effect – 3 – 6 inches of snow. I appreciate your comment about the photos. It’s been a fun way for me to take a break from the tedious job of editing/rewriting to “get real.” I’m revising chapter 8 at the moment with only 3 more chapters to go to finish the first of a four-part manuscript. I hope to send the first part to an editor for review by next week.

          Like

        • underswansea says:

          Hi Carol! Wishing you the best with your manuscript. Editing and rewriting can be a real chore. If you have an editor you trust it may be worth passing it on to them. When it comes to editing photos, I am very good at editing other photographers and terrible at editing my own. That is because my favourite photo is always the last one I took. Sometimes it is difficult to be subjective about what is close. Take care. Enjoy the snow, it can’t last. Bob

          Liked by 1 person

  3. smilecalm says:

    a clear vantage, Carol
    offering fair views
    for breathing
    up wind 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Lovely silhouette and the words garnish its beauty.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. kethuprofumo says:

    Dear Carol,

    what wonderful heaven you have above your light head! Great!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Annika Perry says:

    Beautifully written, Carol catching the diactomy of nature and modern buildings and civilisation.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Beautiful poem, Carol. And an interesting blend of symbols in the photo. It’s evocative.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

