Just connections

by Cynthia Renee Donner

What if we wondered what was hijacking our emotions,
and holding us in tightly wrapped boxes of fear, shame, anger and distrust
sealed by corporate satisfaction and greed;
as we’re fed from the roots of oppression.
Where it’s too dark to see truth,
amidst the noise of lies and deception
that relentlessly deprive and control thoughts,
what if we just started wondering?

What if, in wondering, we chewed a little hole,
just enough to let in the light of another’s presence
from a nearby box;
and in that light we found each other’s hands
and just started holding?

What if holding hands
made us each desire to see and understand
more of each other
and so together we just chewed harder?

What if chewing harder together
warmed our hearts
which fueled our courage;
so we could pull each other through
the holes in our boxes,
to just embrace?

What if embracing each other
made us able to stand together
and see all the millions of chewed boxes near and far,
and caused us to just question?

What if our questioning
how and why all so many people are struggling to survive in boxes,
made us tune out the noise and just listen?

What if our listening to different stories
helped us understand the forces outside of ourselves that are controlling us;
and the realization of our own and collective suffering
made us just start thrashing?

What if our combined thrashing
caused our boxes to break down,
so we could all just join hands?

What if our collective hand holding,
helped us all just stand up?

What if just standing up together
made us realize that sometimes each of us needs to be just held up?

What if in holding each other up
we were able to move together to figure out what just what we needed?

What if figuring out together what we needed
fed our hungry conscious
and a collective vision just started to grow?

What if the collective vision was nurtured
by the power of our continuous connections
and we just loved what we found in ourselves and each other?

What if we grounded ourselves in that love
and co-created just enough changes to save ourselves and sustain our world?

Just thinking.

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Guest Author/ Reblog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Just connections

  1. desilef says:

    Beautiful! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tubularsock says:

    What wonderful connecting thoughts and just what if they gave a war and nobody came?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Beautiful poem and questions and vision, Carol. Thanks for sharing. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesomeness Carol!!! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sojourner says:

    I have a question, Carol?

    And since Darwin is god today, I’ll pose it this way:

    What if the way of the world today, is just the way “natural selection” is working it’s ‘divine’ will? “Nothing personal, mind you”, just good old evolution (like good old business) and “the survival of the fittest” doing their thing?

    This is why I had to quit, Carol. If I see people in trouble, and I go to help them, and they ignore or shove me away, then what am I to do? I just can’t do it anymore. I’ll help those I can, those who will allow me, and be sad and troubled for the rest. But as a lyricist once wrote: “Life goes on…”

    You don’t have to post this. I just wanted to check in. I’m sorry I have been absent. I’ve had to make changes in my life, or not survive. Blogging became torture for me.

    So I have returned to my first and only love, music and composing.

    But I will still be checking in to see what is on your heart and mind, my friend!

    You have been the bright spot, the light and life, in all of this darkness!

    If only the majority of us could be like you, Carol, there would be no need for you to write this type of prose!

    I hope you are well! And blessings to you and family!

    Dave

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dave, it’s always a gift to hear from you. I, too, have been recently absent from WordPress so I learned of your decision to take some time away from blogging belatedly. I’m so glad to hear it’s because your focusing on music-
      something that allows you to express what is in your heart and gives you a sense of freedom and joy.

      You have raised crucial questions about the purpose of life, and of course, I have no answers. But I have been contemplating similar thoughts. I don’t believe that it’s possible to change anyone else – we can merely live our own lives authentically. “Show don’t tell” is the phrase that often comes to mind when I write, edit/revise or teach.

      I am deeply grateful for your kind words, Dave, and for your friendship. Blessings to you, too, dear friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful vision for working together to lift each other up in love. Thanks, Brad

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Carol, thanks for sharing Cynthia’s poem. She gets to the roots of our alienation from each other. We’ve got to keep on chewing harder at the boxes that separate us. We’ve got to say NO to more war.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Rosaliene. Thinking about Syria, I am reminded of a quote spoken by a Republican President many years ago, Dwight D. Eisenhower.

      “Every gun that is made, every warship launched, every rocket fired signifies, in the final sense, a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are cold and are not clothed.
      This world in arms is not spending money alone. It is spending the sweat of its laborers, the genius of its scientists, the hopes of its children.

      “The cost of one modern heavy bomber is this: a modern brick school in more than 30 cities. It is two electric power plants, each serving a town of 60,000 population. It is two fine, fully equipped hospitals. It is some fifty miles of concrete pavement. We pay for a single fighter with a half-million bushels of wheat. We pay for a single destroyer with new homes that could have housed more than 8,000 people. . . .

      “This is not a way of life at all, in any true sense. Under the cloud of threatening war, it is humanity hanging from a cross of iron.” (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chance_for_Peace_speech).

      “We’ve got to say NO to more war.” Wise words that we need to heed, dear firend…

      Liked by 2 people

  8. goroyboy says:

    “just enough to let in the light of another’s presence
from a nearby box;
and in that light we found each other’s hands
and just started holding?”

    Carol,, this really pulled at my heart… if I were standing up, I’m sure I would have collapsed. “What if” is right! Reminiscent of Lennon’s “Imagine “. “What if “we knew who we could trust and as I read on another blog today “A friend to all is a friend to no one” -Aristotle. Life would be so much easier if we didn’t need an embrace, a trusted ear,,,, easier perhaps, fulfilling, not likely.
    Peace to you Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for such thoughtful, lovely comments, Ray. Your contrasts about an easy versus a fulfilling life is so important. You’re right. We don’t need any one else when life is easy. Perhaps living through difficult times urges us to reach out of our boxes?

      Liked by 1 person

      • goroyboy says:

        I just read through this one more time…Sigh, just getting the courage to chew through my own box… I think I can I think I can. As I’m entering my mid-50s I must confess I am becoming less tolerant of mean-spirited beings. In the past, I would passively try to lend them my rose colored glasses but more recently finding myself calling them out on what “I” see as rude and bullying type behavior. My fear is as the saying goes, be careful as not to become very monster you slay. ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ray, these are such important insights about relating to people whose behavior appears to be mean-spirited. It’s not easy for me to deal with, either. I don’t like dealing with bullies or pushy people. But you’re right. The challenge is to remain true to our own values regardless of what others say and do. ❤

          Liked by 1 person

  9. goroyboy says:

    Reblogged this on goroyboy's Blog and commented:
    I don’t often Reblog but look to Carol A. Hand as somewhat of a blogosphere elder. Here is a piece that talks as well as challenged my inner being to let light into the box that the world tends to push us into. Thanks Carol and Cynthia Renee Donner. Peace

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love the uncertainty and hope mixed in every question. Your visuals cross senses–I feel like my fingers can crook out just so through the hole. Beautifully done, Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

