Illusions

Carol A. Hand

***

Separating fact from fiction

may be more difficult than it seems

***

reflections & illusions

***

Can what matters most in life

be discerned when we’re programmed

with false news and empty materialistic dreams?

***

reflections & illusions 2

***

Smoke and mirrors can momentarily cloud our vision

Yet what we choose to honor, nonetheless,

is ultimately our decision

***

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Illusions

  1. kethuprofumo says:

    True Faith will direct us, dear Carol! Nature will re-make us. Thank you for this deep reflection! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Powerful. Illusions and delusions…we must be open and aware. Consciousness creates reality. What we feel, think and believe also has significant impact on just how much these impact us. Thank you, dear Carol. 💕

    Liked by 3 people

  3. desilef says:

    I love the way you parallel fake news and false desires.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Diane, it’s always a pleasure to hear from you. Thank you for your thoughtful comments. Both filtered (fictionalized) news and advertising bring to mind Edward Bernays. Please excuse the following alliteration. Both seem to share a common agenda – molding the minds of the masses to make us more malleable and manageable. Tragically, the methods seem to work for long periods of time…

      Liked by 2 people

  4. David Lee Moser says:

    And then there’s separating facts from opinions….some seem to confuse the two.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your thought-provoking comments, David. I would agree that clinging to our beliefs and opinions is a choice, too. Yet even facts are slippery. As someone who teaches and writes about research, I realize how difficult it is to define absolute facts. Even what we consider to be factual, rigorous science, is based on socially constructed agreements that aren’t universally shared. Is there one truth or many? Can one ever be purely “objective,” or is the illusion of detachment a value and belief in itself?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Rajagopal says:

    Your reflections are spot on, Carol. We are all, unfortunately, living in post-truth societies where it is easy to cherry pick information to arrive at calculated conclusions, as readily exemplified by what is purveyed as paid news. It is thus becoming more incumbent on right thinking people everywhere to travel the extra mile to sift fact from fiction and truth from untruth.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sadly tis so very true, my friend. Love and hugs, Natalie 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have been visiting these images since you posted them. Usually, after a shower TMI 😉 It seems both images change so dramatically each day…I am wondering if I got a bad batch of tea or something. It must hallucinations or hysteria….I dunno. !#&****

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your delightful comments, S. You made me laugh. 🙂

      I admit these photos are quite odd. I took them while I was waiting to see a tarot card reader/psychic. (That’s another story…) As I waited outside her shop, I was intrigued by the way light was reflected and mirrored from so many surfaces in the windowed skywalk on a sunny fall day. I decided to take some pictures while I waited but could never figure out how to use them until I wrote this poem. (To be honest, I’m surprised that no one else commented about them…)

      Liked by 1 person

  8. “Too be honest” maybe people do not want to look so deeply. I love the photos don’t get wrong, but I get lost in them and they give me a dull headache. I do not think we are wired to see that side of humans. It is friggin scary!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

