Contemplating Impermanence

Carol A. Hand

Morning Moon – April 14, 2017

***

Awakening to bird song just before sunrise

Heart touched with a mixture of deep awe and sorrow

Aware of the impermanence of life and beauty

Wondering how many song birds will survive ‘til tomorrow

In a world where cats and sleep-walkers roam free and kill

***

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Contemplating Impermanence

  1. Kitty cats right? I do not think lions like song birds. I dunno.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Aware of the impermanence of life and beauty”
    ~ And may I add: In times of permanent war.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tiny says:

    Indeed, life and beauty here on our earth is certainly more threatened than maybe ever before. A powerful poem, Carol ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Buster Appel says:

    Oh, Miss Carol,please try not to let those dark thoughts impinge upon your always beautiful and positive posts. I know it’s difficult in these times of “permanent” turmoil, but, as my old pappy says, “Hope spring eternal in the doggie breast,” and I try hard to believe him, and am usually successful, especially when he takes me to the Market where they have that storied doggie cookie jar!
    If you think you would like to read about me and old pap, I can get him to send you “officially pawed” copies of my two little books. Just send us your “snail mail” address or P.O. box info.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. smilecalm says:

    insightfully poetic way of reflecting
    on impermanence, Carol!
    the diet of life;
    eating other beings
    only to be eaten
    and on and on 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fascinating comments, David. You’ve reminded me of the saying “You are what you eat,” and one of the lines in Donovan’s song, “Happiness Runs.” “Everybody is a part of everything anyway.” Thank you for comments that helped me be mindful of another way in which we are all connected.:-)

      Like

  6. underswansea says:

    Love the moon coming through.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. underswansea says:

    Wonderful poem. Don’t underestimate those small birds. When they get together they are even too much for the feral cats and roaming zombies. They have been around longer than either. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bob, thank you for your thoughtful comments. There are days during Trump’s reign when I feel powerless to change even little things let alone the ever escalating wars. But your observations about the birds working together make a good deal of sense. 🙂

      Like

  8. Deeply touching Carol, I find myself inhabiting this type of border space in our current times, observing both beauty and corruption, experiencing mixed feelings of hope and despair. Thank you for your beautiful words, as always. It’s like coming and going home.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sana Khan says:

    Beautiful thoughts woven into a poem ! Loved it. Nothing is permanent in our lives , not even these penned thoughts ! As writers though we try to capture them into words, but words are nothing but a memory of a passed thought !

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Impermanence. The permanent condition of one’s life. Can consolation be found? And if I found permanence, what would it be if not death. Perhaps that’s the blessing – that impermanence IS life.
    Ellington (in a pensive mood)

    Liked by 1 person

  11. eliza rudolf says:

    Well ✒ penned😊👍

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kill is a subtle word rip is better

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

