Time Travel?

Carol A. Hand

One moment, I’m reliving memories of the past, driving through a snowstorm on an October night.

After eating, I go to the small gas station next door to ask directions to the address Ward Wright gave me for tonight’s interview.

By the time I leave my motel, it’s dark, windy, and snowy. As I try to find the roadway beneath the blowing snow, I realize how anxious I’m feeling about going to a stranger’s house alone. I drive along the blustery west-shore road that hugs the lake, trying to find the address Ward gave me through the foggy car windows. Finally, I notice a house on a hill with a wall of lighted windows on the west side of the road. I turn into the steep driveway hoping I’ve arrived at the right place.

As I approach the house through swirling snow, buffeted myself by the strong winds, I see a tall, lean man through the walls of glass. He motions to me, pointing to a door on the back porch. I enter and walk through the porch into the brightly lit kitchen. I introduce myself to the self-assured handsome man in his mid-50’s who greets me. He has the aristocratic demeanor of someone accustomed to being in charge. I’m surprised when he asks me where I would like to sit. I wonder if this is a test to find out something about the strange woman who has shown up on his doorstep.

“We should sit wherever you feel most comfortable,” I reply….

The next moment, I look up from my computer and gaze out the living room window at the sunny April landscape. I take a few sips of cold coffee and peek out the kitchen window as I gently part the curtain. I’m grateful to see that the little mother bird is back in her nest to feed her babies.

Shared housing – April 27, 2017

I disturbed her yesterday when I opened the curtain and tried to take her picture, so I won’t try again. You’ll have to trust my words. A bird family really does live in this creative repurposed nest abandoned by the wasps that called it home last summer.

 

Creative repurposing

Satisfied, I return to the past.

The wind grows stronger as we speak, propelling snow against the windows. The lights begin to flicker and I realize that I’m very cold – more from fatigue than from the room temperature. It seems wise to end our meeting. It’s late, after 9 p.m., and the weather is deteriorating. I thank Ward and we say our goodbyes.

As I drive through the blowing snow, gripping the steering wheel tightly, I think about the interview. It was intense and I often felt uncomfortable…. 

***

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Time Travel?

  1. cindy knoke says:

    WOW!! This is the most powerful and amazing thing! Can you possibly write more of this? Forgetting social work for a moment, this shows why you chose it in the first place, and this is what makes some social workers wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kethuprofumo says:

    Great! And I’m happy,dear Carol, that you have so amusing wingy neighbourgs! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. smilecalm says:

    somehow i’m now
    sitting where i’m
    most comfortable, Carol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. victorialise says:

    Oh my goodness Carol! This drew me in and I was immersed into the scene. So wonderful how you do that and my what interesting creatures and so smart to repurpose a well built nesting space!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the juxtaposition of past and present, Carol! As writers, we do a lot of time travel 🙂 When our journey into the past brings new light into the present, we can move forward into the future with more assuredness. We can even find a new home in a place once abandoned by its former tenants 🙂

    By the way, I look forward to reading your book when its published.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joan says:

    More, please. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Buster Appel says:

    Sounds to be a brave interviewer. I’d stick with the birdies and their “repurposed” dwelling!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Time travel can be awesome. Birds are definitely awesome. 😀

    Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Tiny says:

    That was very brave of you! I do similar time travels at times and wonder how I was able to do what I did. I hope the mother bird and the babies are doing well. Warm greetings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Helen, thank you for your always thoughtful, lovely comments. I have to admit that I stopped pulling back the curtain to peak because I didn’t want to disturb the bird family. I hope they survive cats and crows and other life challenges. But I’m grateful that they had a creative, safe home in the early spring. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

