Sometimes I Just Don’t Understand

Carol A. Hand

Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever understand

why people in power seem to care so little

about the suffering and destruction

they leave in their (una)wake(ning)

***

Microsoft WORD Clip Art – Sometimes I just can’t take a photo

***

Robin wings and bloodied backbone lying in the grass

A gift from my neighbors’ roaming cat?

It breaks my heart although they don’t seem to care

Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever understand

***

Neighborhood – May 10, 2017

***

Garbage strewn across from

the neighborhood school

cluttering the little wooded stream

an elder’s shopping cart now inaccessible

Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever understand

***

Neighborhood – May 10, 2017

***

Still, I will tend gardens, teach, and write about possibilities

even as I mourn while picking up the wings and sending love

I will clean up the little wooded area although others may laugh

because caring about the earth and others matters

Maybe it will inspire some to care

even though I may never understand

***

Blooming Bleeding Hearts – May 10, 2017

***

38 thoughts on “Sometimes I Just Don’t Understand”

    1. Pat, it’s so good to hear from you. Thank you so much for your kind and lovely comments. You know, dear friend across the pond, you are often in my thoughts. I send my best wishes and much love to you and “the lovely Christine. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing such important insights, Rosaliene. I suspect you are correct. The challenge, of course, is figuring out what can be done, isn’t it? I wonder if it’s because many people don’t want to feel others’ pain because they’re too busy numbing out their own.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Carol,

    Your words here, and the thoughts and concerns behind them, once again, make me look at life and myself. I hear your heart, and I trust you. And then I look inside of my self, and I see nothing but anger, frustration; a completely jaded nature that I despise. And yet, I seem to have no power to change at the moment.

    So I continue on, doing what has been placed before me to do.

    Hope you are well? Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dave, it’s always good to hear from you. I’m grateful that you feel comfortable enough to share honestly. I feel those things, too (anger, frustration, and hopelessness when it comes to people’s ability to awaken). But then, I listen to the birds sing, watch fascinating cloud formations and budding trees sway in the breeze, and encounter students who really want to learn how to make a difference. Those experiences touch my heart with both joy and sorrow and give me a reason to try to do what I can to open up possibilities for others to care.

      In answer to your question, I am okay, busy trying to catch up on editing now that I have a computer that seems to be working. It’s a challenge, though. As the weather grows warmer I’d rather be outside but I feel the aches and pains of aging and wonder how much I’ll be able to do. I won’t know until I try…

      I send you my best wishes and hugs, dear friend. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank You for another post that speaks to my current thoughts and feelings, as well. I get so frustrated at the lack of concern for the world we live in. I saw a dead robin this past week, too, in front of a pick-up truck. It bothers me because it’s my first name….hmmm…wonder at the symbolism there….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Robin, it’s always good to hear from you. Thank you for your thoughtful comments, and for sharing this on your blog. It always makes me sad when birds die. Beings that can fly above the troubles of the world hold a special place in my heart. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am with you, dear Carol. Feeling a little lost in the midst of such neglect of those who most need what is being held back or redirected. I am deeply sad and doing my best to sit with it so that it doesn’t consume me. Take good care of you. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If one would truly understand, one must engage the bigger picture and come to terms with what constitutes a “human” on this world. Engaging the reality of the Ancients, the Spirits, awareness of past lives and interaction with non-earth beings is necessary, else how shall we know? If a thing doesn’t have its counterpart to compare it to, how then shall we proceed to understanding? Once we accept the bigger picture of cosmic life, some of earth man’s history breaks through Matrix disinformation and some things begin to make new sense. The first great revelation I had to accept on the path to understanding is that the people of earth are not human. Nor are they animals. They are pseudo humans. They do not know what it means to be human because they have been lied to about their position. A human does not kill, that’s the first law. As for being an animal, no animal does the things Earthian creatures indulge themselves in, to the detriment of their loved ones, their neighbours, and finally their world. To understand one must begin at the beginning. Who is strong enough, and humble enough, to do this?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Crucial questions and insights, Sha’Tara. How do people learn what it means to live in harmony with the world and each other if there are too few who can model what that means and too many who wish to keep inconvenient truths hidden?

      Like

      1. Then they will not, and the inevitable must follow: from decadence, to corruption, to decay, to downfall of civilization. It won’t be the first time for the Earthian species is obdurate and refuses to learn from its mistakes.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. My heart aches for many of the same reasons, Carol. I see how people don’t care about the earth, even in protected habitats like the salt marsh here, I see plastic bags, bottles and cups invading the space of the wildlife. And I clean too…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is disheartening – the lack of care for other people, for other creatures, and the planet, and I don’t understand it either. Such an alien and alienated relationship with beauty and kindness. But all the more reason to continue loving and nurturing what’s precious. Each one of us makes a difference no matter how small.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well expressed bittersweetly, caring curiosity, Carol!
    Seems victimhood is a hard prison
    for most human cultures to escape.
    Such suffering behavior blinds most from seeing
    the suffering of others, of the neighborhood & beyond.
    Without adequate & compassionate support to experience relief
    will the cycle of ignorance ever end?
    showing a little care for the ‘hood seems fundamental.
    I’m invoking flower power to help us
    with our deepening crisis of trust.
    Wishing you a happy day 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. The world is up for grabs, Even after everything. It’s still wild. It’s generational, but we shouldn’t let anything though on our watch.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. More power feeds ego while slowly killing the conscience. More power feeds on more power and as the cycle goes on, results in death of conscience and a human’s soul.
    Bodies without soul care nothing for the suffering they leave behind as a telling trail and this lack of care is what drives compassionate and lovely humans as yourself to voice out against the injustices.
    I also believe strongly that if one’s soul is damaged or hurt, there is still hope but to be without one or a dead one is the end of a life, many afflicted with the second sickness show their uncaring through various actions that adversly affect nature, animals, resources and humans.
    Lovely post here, made us all reflect and be reminded of life’s preciousness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing such thoughtful and important reflections, Saadia. Power is so seductive. If that it what one craves, one can never have enough to feel in total control. Nothing else and no one else matters. And tragically, those in positions of power often haven’t learned how to use what they have wisely and compassionately.

      Life is precious, as you so eloquently point out. From my perspective, we are responsible to using our talents and positions to honor and preserve the wonder and beauty of life despite the challenges we face. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

