Ah, Choices

Carol A. Hand

So much gardening to do but so much to say

on this lovely last day in the month of May

Editing felt like the honorable choice

fulfilling a promise to give others a voice

Their suffering and resilience through the ages

shared in stories with love on manuscript pages

Today I chose to plant seeds in a different fashion

with hopes they will blossom into compassion

***

Crabapple Tree – May 2017

***

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ah, Choices

  1. SauceBox says:

    Love it! Great stuff! You’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

    Like

  2. underswansea says:

    Hi Carol, wonderful verse! It is difficult to stay focused when the sun is shining and so much is blooming. You choose to help others with your gift, I know this personally and thank you. Everything will grow in the garden, with or without us. It just will grow differently. Don’t deny yourself. It does the soul good. It is thunder and lightning here. That only happens when the cool and hot collide. Take care. Bob

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Bob, Thank you so much for your thoughtful, lovely comments. I hope to spend tomorrow and Friday in the garden before the rains come again on the weekend. I think your weather is headed our way. I have landscaping blocks, compost, and soil to move before it rains so I can plant. The plants I grew from seeds are still rather small, and the nights have been too cold for them to survive outside any way. But you are right. I have plenty of unintentional plants growing everywhere now. Best wishes to you. I look forward to seeing the photos and signs from your exciting project. ❤

      Like

  3. smilecalm says:

    like a good gardener
    who can already see
    the fruits of her labors!
    may you garden
    blossom into
    fields of compassion 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I agree with smile calm and pray that they do dear Carol!!! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. thejuicenut says:

    Lovely poem. We too have been planting in between the showers, I love this time of year when the garden has woken up and looks so bright and welcoming. It is lovely to sit out and watch the birds with their young. Post with photos scheduled for next week 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

