Northshore Highlights

Carol A. Hand

A colorful morning although skies were grey

On a cool but ordinary Saturday

Bumble bee feasting – June 17, 2017

An impromptu trip along Lake Superior’s Northwest shore

Silver Creek Cliff Tunnel

Dramatic skies promised rain for sure

Heading North

A Rainy View

Fast moving storms pass, creating fog and rising steam

Lake Superior View from Palisade Head (Beaver Bay, MN)

Inspiring a moment to ponder, perhaps to dream

My daughter, gazing a the lake she loves

Watching a robin bathe

A Happy Robin

And a rescued resting little bug

An insect my granddaughter lovingly rescued

Taking time to enjoy family

Lake Superior – Palisade Head

Cross River Falls, MN

Cross River Falls

And time for a hug

Grand Marais, MN

Beautiful sights and laughter along the way

Lake Superior – Grand Marais, MN

Cross River Falls – looking west

Cross River Falls – looking east

Treasures of travels on an ever-shifting weather day

After the storm passed through

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Northshore Highlights

  1. Sha'Tara says:

    Lovely “travelogue” Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hsampson says:

    Wonderful photos Carol! thanks for sharing! i really enjoyed them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I sooo enjoyed this, Carol. Thank you for sharing this part of your life with us. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pvcann says:

    so really, it was no ordinary Saturday, but a wonderful one for you, thank you for inviting me in.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful photos and family pics. An overcast day can have great atmosphere. Thanks for sharing your blessings, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh how fun this was Carol. I love knowing something about where you live and your family. You have a beautiful daughter and granddaughter! Thank you for sharing this with us. And can you please send some of that rain down to Texas?! Hugs and blessings, Natalie 🙂 ❤

    Like

    • Dear Natalie, thank you so much for your delightful comments. I’m sorry to hear it’s too dry in Texas. We’ve had alternating bouts of drought and too much rain this spring, as well as a prolonged period of frost warnings. I just got some of my plants in last week! Hugs and blessings to you, too. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh wow that is late. A lot of my flowering things have already come and gone. And we’ve entered summer’s inferno here in Texas sadly. It’s always good to find your posts in my inbox and see what you have to say. I believe us to be kindred spirits dear Carol❣️😘

        Liked by 1 person

  7. underswansea says:

    Wonderful post. It looked like a lovely day spent with loved ones. You are lucky. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. thejuicenut says:

    Lovely verse and gorgeous photos 😊 We are in the midst of a heatwave, 32C yesterday, such a contrast to a week ago when I was still wearing woolly jumpers and long socks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Chris. It’s always a challenge for me to convert temperatures from Celsius to Fahrenheit. 🙂 Here, 32 is the freezing point. Where I live in Minnesota, it still goes down to 50 degrees F at night (10 degrees C?).

      In the process of figuring out the conversion of C to F, I learned something new! I didn’t realize that 0 C is the freezing point of water, and 100 C is the boiling point. I really like that way to set the values of degrees. It never occurred to me to ask where Fahrenheit values came from until today. Now I know but I’ll let others discover it online for themselves as I did. 🙂

      Like

  9. steelcityman says:

    Quite simply … uplifting. I felt good after reading your words … you have magic. (and you are quite photogenic too …) Regards from sunny Yorkshire. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kindness, Pat, and best wishes to you and your lovely family in sunny Yorkshire.

      Ah, how I wish I were photogenic. Unlike the photo IDs for work and driving that have given me a laugh for many many years, digital photos give me the option to choose what to share. I have a rather large collection of rejects. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. steelcityman says:

    That was quick !!! You made me jump … lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s my break time from yard work, so I actually saw your lovely comment pretty quickly. 🙂 I hope you are doing well, dear friend. And speaking of photogenic, it is always delightful to see you handsome smiling face on your vlogs.

      Liked by 1 person

      • steelcityman says:

        Just uploading my weekly rant to You tube.. 11.20 pm here, should be in bed, but it’s so warm I don’t think we’ll be getting much sleep tonight … don’t work too hard Carol, save some energy to enjoy the rest of your day …. Patrick.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Tiny says:

    Wonderful photos of a beautiful trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The fringes of Lake Superior are magical, thank you for reminding me of this special place. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

