Blessed Rain

Carol A. Hand

I

swear I can feel

the tension building among

thirsty trees and plants anxiously waiting

for life-giving rain to bless their day – at last

I breathe a sigh of relief as healing drops

finally begin to
fall

***

Raindrop on a Fern Frond – Photo by Louise Docker from Sydney, Australia

***

About Carol A. Hand

What matters are not the titles I’ve held or university degrees I earned or the size of a house or bank account. It’s really what I’ve learned from ordinary people like me whom I’ve met along the way. They taught me to live with gratitude and give thanks for each new day.
This entry was posted in On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Blessed Rain

  1. Nice. 🙂 Then you smell that unique pungent odor while walking around in the woods.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. goroyboy says:

    What an inspirational piece Carol. We all have our own “Rain” , wouldn’t you agree?
    I like to one form of “rain” is when I stand parched in a emotional desert void of any compassion, understanding or love. Like a refreshing salve, one small act of kindness, begins the healing process far beyond any superficial wounds, deep into the root that is my very soul., 🙂 peace to you my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I absolutely love this and I love rain! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. afwaswater says:

    ‘Healing drops’ sounds so beautiful. Lovely poem, even the shape is as a drop of rain. wish you a wonderful day, Hanneke

    Liked by 1 person

  5. usfman says:

    In soggy South Florida where I live, the plants will have little complaining.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. smilecalm says:

    so sweet!
    i’m smiling
    envisioning
    Hopi’s dancing
    in gratitude,
    also 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mark Ryan says:

    Nice piece, quick and all encompassing. Packs a punch. God love the rain, and all that it washes away.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A moment’s beauty captured here, just as a raindrop before it shatters upon the flower petal. Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

