Reflections about Beauty

Carol A. Hand

Grateful for sharing a visit to a garden

with the dear friend who delighted in each bloom

and greeted everyone we met with kindness

as we shared a lunch at a local “greasy spoon

***

Hortus Garden – July 2017

***

Grateful for the gentle man who paints houses

and writes novels for sharing his creative stories

as we stood for hours under grey July skies

on an unseasonably cool day in these northern territories

 

Grateful to the dragonfly/damselfly (?) for choosing to stay

resting on my jacket sleeve with gossamer wings still

gazing into my eyes in the afternoon sun

before taking flight again and traveling where s/he will

 

Canada Darner – Aeshna Canadensis (photo by Phil Myers, biokids.umich.edu)

***

Grateful for all the simple gifts that remind me of the many faces of beauty.

***

34 thoughts on “Reflections about Beauty”

    1. 🙂 I wrote this in the morning, inspired by the dragonfly/damselfly, before I checked my email. These days, I hesitate to post critical, “bad-news,” or angry reflections. There are too many of those these days and too few that encourage us to look for peace and everyday beauty. But Nolan’s example is inspiring, too, and his message is crucial. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love your beautiful observations of nature 😊 I often see dragonflies of varying hues when I sit still in my garden, they are fascinating, how wonderful to have one sit with you like that. 🌼

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

