October Reflections

Carol A. Hand

As I greet the morning facing east
the rising sun is momentarily visible
between the tree-lined horizon
and the bank of clouds moving in
Multicolored leaves provide a filter
allowing light and shadow to dance
highlighting gardens and dew-laden grass
The cool pine-scented gentle breeze
kisses my face and graying hair
and sets the wind chimes singing
Rustling leaves on trees join with their own music
Wind-blown crispy fallen leaves clicking on pavement
add counterpoint to the murmur of city traffic
I wish I could share the moment with others
But of course my camera is inside

I stop to wonder
What is this perceived need to share really about?
It’s becoming more and more difficult to blog
Perhaps it’s because it’s harder and harder to hope
Perhaps it’s because my inner reserves are depleted
by so much suffering in the world
and the myopic selfishness so prevalent today
Perhaps it’s because I have too much to do
too many details that need attention
to allow me much time for poetry and music
Perhaps it’s because I know that silence
is often the wiser choice
Words carry power, conscious and unconscious intentions
to enlighten, to inspire, to entertain, to distract,
to wound, to heal, to repel, to attract

May these simple words inspire a moment of silence
to witness beauty with a deep sense of peace and gratitude

***

October Reflections – 2017

***

33 thoughts on “October Reflections”

  1. Carol, your discord and confusion is palpable and one I share when listening to the news…also a very busy life takes one’s attention. Everyone has different reasons for blogging and more importantly for continuing to share here on WP. Your words touch many, I read them slowly, savour them and yes, inspired to stop and reflect. One very good reason to blog…but it is time consuming and when one’s energy is low, not easy. Follow your heart and soul…but always a joy to read your posts, your thoughts and I come away feeling richer. Hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Trace, I so appreciate your kind and thoughtful words, but I truly don’t see myself as wise. I couldn’t resist the temptation to reply with a bit of humor.

      “It is better to remain silent at the risk of being thought a fool, than to talk and remove all doubt of it.” (Maurice Switzer)
      “The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man [woman] knows himself [herself] to be a fool.” (William Shakespeare, As You Like It)

      I send hugs and loving thoughts, dear friend. ❤

      Like

  2. I think you would really like this poem by Victoria Safford entitled “The Gates of Hope”. I found it by googling her name and scrolling down until I came to The Gates of Hope/ Stanford Social Innovation Review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind comments, Sha’Tara. The shed is a fascinating building. I understand it is a replica of a Swedish building, built by the original owners of this house to honor their ancestral homeland.

      Like

  3. The serenity and happiness of your environs virtually envelope me as I weave my way through your words, Carol. May the annoying tumult leave you undisturbed, like droplets of water gliding off lotus leaves, and keep you appropriately energized for everything interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your musings dear Carol. Don’t be overcome by the world and its worries. And you should always find time to write. You are a well spring of lovely thoughts and peace loving practices. This is your gift and it is meant to be shared. Love and hugs, N 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A beautiful, heatrfelt poem… “Perhaps it’s because I know that silence is often the wiser choice”: I think, most times it is… but how about written words?… maybe they are placed in between silence and spoken words 😉 Please keep on sharing your light…. Love & best wishes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol-
    It has been some time since I read your blog. Because, as you describe here, my reserves are also depleted and I must often shift into survival mode.
    I so appreciate your words and wisdom. They are like rations for the soul.
    All the best-
    Marahu

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

